top of page
Search
  • haynesfiction

The 80’s and Me

Last night my wife and I were rummaging through Netflix, Prime and Sky to find a film to watch. Nothing much tickled our fancy so I took her on a journey of my formative years and the beauty of 80’s horror - TV and VHS.


All the old greats were there. Some, I've included below. My wife hasn't seen any of these and although she said she would watch them with me, I'm not sure she really means it.We watched the trailers together and I tried to impress upon her how good these movies were.I got the impression she was more interested in my excitement than the actual film!


Each film carries with it a memory of a time and a place, in the same way as books do. Ah, the eighties...





It's some time since I've watched this gem but as I recall there was some nudity and a few sex scenes, which were probably quite tame by today's standards. However I remember watching this on VHS, as a kid (12/13 maybe?) with my dad and having a few uncomfortable moments!



This scared the hell out of me. David Soul was Hutch and seeing him in a whole heap of trouble like this concerned me!












This was probably the scariest one of all. After watching it I suffered nightmares for several weeks. Dad got into a lot of trouble with my mum for allowing mw to watch it. I slept with a penknife under my pillow for weeks afterward. Not that it would have done me any good against Michael Myers.








Another great one that seemed almost real and could happen to anyone.













Now this guy, and the one below were two of the most frightening characters ever created. There was Jason Voorhies too but Kruger was far worse because he could get inside your dreams and that kept me awake for a few weeks too.










This came a little later and I was older but it still scared the crap out of me.



50 views1 comment

1 Comment


Marie Kirkland
Marie Kirkland
Sep 12, 2021

Loved this blog post, David! Great time to put up some scary movies since it is so close to that time of season! :)

Like
bottom of page